Ok, so I definitely belong in DevRel

Ok, so I definitely belong in DevRel

Hi ๐Ÿ‘‹ I'm Luke and I'm new to the DevRel space. Here are a few examples of experiences I've had that eventually led me here.

ยท

3 min read

Wow, my very FIRST blog post! What better way to kick things off than to start from the beginning, chapter uno, the inception, the calm before the storm (yes, I'm having a main character moment).

Anyways, here's why I know I belong in DevRel.

The Beginning

My love for technology began as a kid in the 90's messing around with my Grandmother's brand spankin' new Gateway desktop, clicking random folders and blowing myself up playing minesweeper; I was instantly hooked! This was my introduction into the world that I've grown to love and appreciate so much.

Curiosity

Although it began with Granny's old rig, I realized early on how curious I became about the world around me and from what I have been able to gather, curiosity is one of the many traits that Developer Advocates possess. Now, yes, curiosity is a fundamental trait that all humans possess, but it's the degree of curiosity that varies from person to person. As I mentioned above, my curious nature allows me to explore and understand the world around me. For example, in getting to know me, you will immediately find that I question everything. I believe that everyone and everything has a story or a reason, it all has a "why", a purpose, and I love that.

adorable-curious-human-brain-glasses-solving-riddles-surrounded-questions-interrogation-points-cartoon-character-124865055.jpeg

Life-long Learner

I attended a coding bootcamp in 2019, learning Full Stack Web Development within a 14 week period. Although the program definitely had its difficulties, I immersed myself into it to learn as much as I possibly could. I always found myself wanting to dive headfirst into the following week, to learn the next language or framework. It was by far one of the best times of my life. Fast forward to today and I have been introduced to the DevRel space and again, another chance to learn something new. I'm a sponge! Looking to take in as much information as humanly possible and I take great pride in that. I want to be the subject matter expert of EVERYTHING! (ok, maybe not everything, but you get the gist). I'm simply a life-long learner!

I โค๏ธ Talking

Although I can be introverted in some ways, I am most definitely an extrovert in every sense of the word! Yet, with being an extrovert, I find that I love talking about things that I like. Heck, I can talk about things that I don't like, but when it's something that genuinely interests me? You might as well grab your popcorn and relax, because I am definitely going to tell you everything about it. Especially when it comes to tech ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿฝโ€๐Ÿ’ป

So, that's me in a nutshell and few reasons why I'm totally convinced that I could oursue a career in DevRel. This space is so unique and I truly believe that I can add value to any team that is willing to give me a shot. I'm excited to dive in and can't wait to see where this journey takes me.

Thanks for reading!

ย